DWI is an abbreviation for ‘driving while intoxicated’. Intoxicated means not having the normal use of mental and physical faculties because of alcohol or drugs. If an individual has a blood alcohol content of more than .08% or more, they can be charged. Texas has very strict laws that include harsh penalties like jail time, high fines, and the loss of driving privileges. It’s very important to contact experienced DWI lawyers in Tyler, TX to fight a DWI as soon as an individual is arrested.
Adults are not the only ones who can be charged with a DWI. Texas law states that anyone under the age of 21 is a minor. A minor who is caught driving after they’ve been drinking could face mandatory enrolment in alcohol education class, community service, probation, the loss of their driving privileges, and be required to have an interlock device installed on their vehicle.
The first DWI conviction could result in fines of up to $2,000, as well as 72 hours to 180 days in jail. Their license could be suspended for up to two years and be assessed a surcharge of $2,000 to keep their license for three years. An ignition interlock device may be required as part of the punishment.
Progression of Fines
DWI lawyers in Tyler, TX should always be hired to fight an arrest. The penalty for a second DWI conviction can result in $4,000 in fines and having to spend 30 to 365 days in jail. When an individual is convicted of a third offense, they could spend two to ten years in a state prison and lose their license for up to two years.
Mitigating the Charges
There are a variety of options a lawyer has to fight charges and reduce penalties. If the police didn’t follow proper procedures or didn’t have a cause to pull a driver over, evidence could be suppressed. The experience of a defense lawyer is required to mitigate the penalties of a DWI charge.
If you have been arrested for a DWI, contact the Law Office of Holmes & Moore P.L.L.C. They have years of successful experience fighting for drivers’ rights.
Be the first to like.